Mayor Lumumba declares State of Emergency after severe storm damage. Click here.


The City of Jackson’s Water and Sewer Business Administration is now JXN Water. Click here.



PEG Network Off-Air Announcement: PEG Network is currently off the air as we undergo a relocation. We appreciate your patience during this transition.

In the meantime, you can stay connected with PEG Network here or visit our YouTube channel at

Local Historic Districts


The City of Jackson has five local historic districts, four of which are also National Register Historic Districts.

Farish Street Historic District

Medgar Evers Neighborhood Historic District

Morris Historic District

Belhaven Heights Historic District

Belhaven Historic District

Additionally, the MDAH database is helpful for details and additional information for historic preservation.

Fourteen individual sites have been locally designated and several of these are also on the National Register of Historic Places.

Close window