Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba extends the Executive Order closing City Hall and non-essential offices effective Friday, January 22, 2021 and shall remain in effect through Friday, February 12, 2021, or until rescinded or superseded by another applicable Proclamation of Executive Order. The Department of the Municipal Clerk at City Hall will still be open to receive legal documents as well as assist TSA, passport, open records, and 2021 elections customers. 

Office of the Fire Marshall

Front Desk

Jackson Fire Department
Office of the Fire Marshall
555 South West St. Jackson, MS 39201

Mission Statement

 It is the mission of the Fire Marshal's Office to prevent and/or reduce the incidence of fire by increasing the awareness and knowledge of the residents and businesses respecting fire safety, and by ensuring compliance with the International Fire Code and applicable ordinances of the City Jackson. This mission will be accomplished through fire prevention education and compliance inspections. We will actively participate with our community, serve as role models, and strive to effectively and efficiently utilize all resources made available, to provide safety and excellent customer service to the citizens of Jackson, Mississippi as well as those who are its visitors. 

About Us

 The Office of the Fire Marshal is a regulatory and enforcement agency of the City of Jackson Fire Department under the directive of the Fire Chief. The Fire Department, along with the City of Jackson and the State of Mississippi, has adopted and enforces the International Fire Code, 2012 Edition, and its reference codes and standards. The Office of the Fire Marshal is responsible for fire safety code enforcement and the inspection of all facilities within the City of Jackson (excluding one and two-family dwellings). Fire Inspectors perform on-site inspections of new and existing structures. Inspections of properties occur on a routine and scheduled basis and also upon complaint. Fire Inspectors ensure minimum fire prevention and control standards are being maintained in specific properties. 


 The office consists of a Division Chief, a Water Supply Officer, three Deputy Fire Marshals, and a secretary. Each inspector has a specific geographical territory. The territories are divided into three districts throughout the city. We continuously strive to work with the building department, business owners, contractors, and other professionals to provide the safest environment for citizens and guests of the City of Jackson. 

If you have any questions about fire safety, please feel free to contact our office at (601) 860-2018. 

Close window