Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?
Office of the City Attorney

The City Attorney serves as legal advisor and attorney for the City of Jackson. Our mission is to provide legal assistance and representation for the City of Jackson and its boards and commissions. Activities of the Office of the City Attorney include advising the Mayor, Chief Administrative Officer, City Council, department directors, and other City employees; prosecuting misdemeanor complaints; attending City Council meetings and serving as legal counsel during such meetings; supporting the legislative and administrative processes involving ordinances, litigation, contracts, legal research, legal opinions, and liens; and representing and defending the City's legal interests and rights before all judicial, legislative, and administrative tribunals.

The Office of the City Attorney does not provide legal advice to members of the public. The Office of the City Attorney is limited to providing legal advice, counsel and representation to the Mayor, City Council members, City officials, and departments in all civil matters regarding the City of Jackson.

  • Sharon D. Gipson- City Attorney 

Administrative Support Staff

  • Mable Coleman - Executive Legal Administrator
  • Yolanda Manogin - Legal Administrative Coordinator 
  • Linda Williams - Administrative Assistant
  • Laquinta Thomas - Senior Legal Secretary    

 Transactional Attorneys

  • Barbara Bluntson - Deputy City Attorney
  • Carrie Johnson - Deputy City Attorney
  • Kristen Love - Deputy City Attorney    
  • Briana Keeler - Deputy City Attorney
  • Shanda Lewis - Deputy City Attorney
  • Brigette Morgan - Deputy City Attorney
  • Amber Rembert - Deputy City Attorney
  • Nakesha Watkins - Legal Counsel
  • Terrell S. (Terry) Williamson - Legal Counsel

 Litigation Attorneys 

  • LaShundra Jackson - Winters - Deputy City Attorney
  • J. Richard Davis - Deputy City Atttorney

 Office of the City Prosecutor

  • Wendy Wilson-White - City Prosecutor  
  • Chandra C. Lawrence - Senior Deputy City Attorney

Administrative Support Staff  

  • Terry Green - Paralegal
  • Margaret Griffin - Sr. Legal Secretary  

 Office of the Risk Manager

  • MacDarrell Poullard - Risk Manager

 Claims Division

  • Dot Thomas - Claims Supervisor
  • Valerie Travis - Claims Investigator 
  • Joycelyn Davis-Scott - Risk Management Safety Coordinator
  • Danny Still - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Dornice Williams - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Teresa Brown-Pittman - Senior Legal Secretary

Criminal Justice Reform Task Force

The City of Jackson’s Criminal Justice Reform Task Force meets twice a month on the second floor of Jackson Police Department headquarters, 327 E. Pascagoula St.

The task force will investigate the current criminal justice system in the City of Jackson, Hinds County, Mississippi, and publish written recommendations for the improvement and enhancement of the present system. 

Task Force Member List

Important Links

Physical Address
455 East Capitol Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201-2603

Mailing Address
Post Office Box 2779
Jackson, Mississippi 39207-2779

P - 601-960-1799
F - 601-960-1756 or 601-960-0321

Sharon D. Gipson
City Attorney


455 E Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39207

Ph: 601-960-1799
Fx: 601-960-1756
Fx: 601-960-0321