Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?
Planning Board
About the Planning Board

 The Jackson Planning Board has been designated by the City Council as the advisory committee to the City of Jackson in zoning matters.  This board is meant to create a better, more healthful, convenient, efficient, and attractive city environment; to lessen congestion in the streets; to secure safety from fire, panic and other dangers; to provide adequate light and air; to prevent overcrowding of land; to avoid undue concentration of population; and to facilitate adequate provisions for transportation, water, sewage, schools, parks and other public requirements in accordance with a carefully thought out, comprehensive official plan to serve both present and future needs of the city

This is a 15-member board, serving 4-year terms. Planning Board Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to approval by the City Council, and serve as unpaid volunteer municipal officials. 

The Planning Board meets once a month, on the fourth Wednesday of each month (except in November and December) at 1:30 p.m. at 200 South President Street in downtown Jackson.

2019 Planning Board Schedule and Filing Deadlines

Planning Board Agenda

Current Zoning Action Cases

Upcoming Zoning Action Cases

Zoning Action Application Form

Proposed Text Amendments for June 2019

Reasonable Accommodation Oct 2018

Name Ward
Eric McKie 1
Elizabeth Brister 1
Michael Booker * 2
Samuel Mitchell** 2
Joyce Jackson 3
Kimberly Robinson 3
Vacant 4
Eric Norwood 4
Vivian Dotson 5
Cassandra Welchlin 5
Florine Keeler 6
Vacant 6
LaDarion Ammons   7
Christopher Myers 7
Jennifer Welch   At Large
* Chairman ** Vice-Chairman