Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?
Type of Government

Type of Government

The City of Jackson operates under the mayor-council form of government with a full-time mayor elected at-large and seven part-time council members elected (one each) from the seven wards.

The City Council is authorized by Section 21-8-9 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended, to serve as the legislative branch for the city. Each member of the council is empowered to perform the duties specified by the general laws of the state.


During the first council meeting in July, the council elects one member to serve as president of the council and one member as vice-president, both of whom serve at the will and pleasure of the council.

The president presides at all council meetings. In the event of the president's absence or disability, the vice-president acts as president. In the event of the absence of both the president and vice-president, a presiding officer will be designated by majority vote of council members present to serve during such meetings. All council members, including the president, shall have the right to vote at all times, even when he / she is presiding.