Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?
Americans With Disabilities Compliance At The City of Jackson

ADA Consent Decree
The City is Jackson is committed to providing an exceptional public transportation service that is in compliance with the American with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.  The City of Jackson, on March 30, 2010, the United States Department of Justice entered into Consent Decree to improve transportation services for those with disabilities through September 30, 2018.

Details on the Consent Decree are available here:

ADA Advisory Council
The Jackson ADA Advisory Council mission is to be the communication and advisory bridge which links those with disabilities and the City of Jackson.  The ADA Advisory Council provides input and makes recommendations toward bringing the public and private entities conducting business and/or services within the City of Jackson into ADA compliance.

The scope of the ADA Advisory Council is as follows:

  • Review the accessibility of services, programs, facilities and/or employment of City departments, and advise the City accordingly;
  • Review relevant City policies, guidelines, procedures, reports and state or federal legislation to advise the City accordingly;
  • Act as a liaison to community groups, governmental agencies, and individuals in addressing disability issues related to the City; and
  • Review and make recommendations to the Mayor and City Council with regard to legislative policy.

The meetings of the Jackson ADA Advisory Council are open to the public and anyone interested in attending is welcome. The ADA Advisory Council meets on the first Wednesday of each month.  The meetings are held in the first floor conference room of the Warren A. Hood Building located at 200 South President Street across from City Hall at 1:00 p.m.

To receive copies of the monthly agenda, please contact Christine Welch, ADA Consent Decree Transportation Coordinator, Department of Planning and Development, Transit Services Division at (601) 960-1100 or email  Copies are also available at the JATRAN Administration and Maintenance Facility, 1785 Highway 80 West, Jackson, MS 39201.

To join this Council, please contact Sam Gleece, ADA Coordinator, City of Jackson, Department of Human and Cultural Services at (601) 960-1863 or email .

The Jackson ADA Advisory Council includes one voting member representing each of the seven Jackson City Council wards, four organizations serving persons with disabilities and four nonvoting at large member agencies providing services to the disability community of Jackson as well as representatives from each of the City of Jackson departments. 

Download the Bylaws

ADA Advisory Council Minutes





ADA Coordinator for Consent Decree &
Reasonable Modifications Coordinator
Christine F. Welch
Deputy Director of Transportation
Department of Planning & Development
Transit Services Division
Ph: 601-960-1909
Fax: 601-948-3840
Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

ADA Coordinator

Sam Gleese
Department of Human and Cultural Services
Ph: 601-960-1860
Fax: 601-960-1572

ADA Advisory Council Chair
Lee Cole

Ph: 601-991-9493

Members of the ADA Advisory Council
  • Lynn Hill, Ward 1, Term expires October 2015
  • Lee Cole, Ward 2, Term expires October 2016
  • Desmeon Thomas, Ward 3, Term expires October 2016
  • Jason Bunch, Ward 4, Term expires October 2016
  • Jacqueline Washington, Ward 5, Term expires October 2015
  • Vacant
  • Dr. Scott Crawford, Ward 7, Term expires October 2016
  • Ollie Lester, At Large Member, Term expires yearly
  • Antonio V. Wright, At Large Member, Term expires yearly
  • Jan Hawthorn, At Large Member; Term expires yearly
  • Shellie Ziegler, Mississippi Library for the Blind & Physically Handicapped, Term expires yearly
  • Pam Dollar, At Large Member, Tear expires yearly

Organizational Members
  These are individuals representing agencies/organizations representing persons with disabilities.  They possess no voting power.
  • Roy Granger, MS Industries for the Blind, Term expires yearly

  • Lee Jenkins, Brain Injury Association of MS, Term expires yearly

  • Charles Husband, Mississippi  Department of Transportation, Public Transit Division, Term expires yearly

  • Gewn Brown, The ARC Of Mississippi, Term expires yearly