Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?
Office of the City Attorney

The City Attorney serves as legal advisor and attorney for the City of Jackson. Our mission is to provide legal assistance and representation for the City of Jackson and its boards and commissions. Activities of the Office of the City Attorney include advising the Mayor, Chief Administrative Officer, City Council, department directors, and other City employees; prosecuting misdemeanor complaints; attending City Council meetings and serving as legal counsel during such meetings; supporting the legislative and administrative processes involving ordinances, litigation, contracts, legal research, legal opinions, and liens; and representing and defending the City's legal interests and rights before all judicial, legislative, and administrative tribunals.

The Office of the City Attorney does not provide legal advice to members of the public. The Office of the City Attorney is limited to providing legal advice, counsel and representation to the Mayor, City Council members, City officials, and departments in all civil matters regarding the City of Jackson.

  • Monica D. Joiner - City Attorney 
  • James Anderson, Jr. - Special Assistant to the City Attorney
  • Gail W. Lowery - Special Assistant to the City Attorney

Administrative Support Staff

  • Janice Collins - Executive Legal Administrator
  • Mable Coleman - Legal Administrative Coordinator
  • Yolanda Manogin - Senior Legal Secretary
  • Jaime Haley - Senior Legal Secretary
  • Deidra Montgomery - Legal Secretary

Transactional Division

  • Carrie Johnson - Senior Deputy City Attorney
  • Azande W. Williams - Deputy City Attorney
  • Terrell S. (Terry) Williamson - Legal Counsel

Litigation Division

  • Kristen N. Blanchard - Deputy City Attorney
  • Gregory Burnett - Deputy City Attorney
  • J. Richard Davis - Deputy City Attorney
  • Lara E. Gill - Deputy City Attorney
  • MacDarrell Poullard - Litigation Paralegal

Office of the City Prosecutor

  • Barbara A. Bluntson - City Prosecutor
  • Johnnie McDaniels - Senior Deputy City Prosecutor
  • Chandra C. Lawrence - Senior Deputy City Attorney
  • Lashundra Jackson-Winters - Deputy City Prosecutor

Administrative Support Staff 

  • Jewell F. Johnson - Legal Administrative Coordinator
  • Teresa Brown-Pittman - Senior Legal Secretary

Office of the Risk Manager

  • John R. Anderson - Risk Manager

Claims Division

  • Dot Thomas - Claims Supervisor
  • Peggy Austin Greene - Safety Coordinator
  • Valerie Travis - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Joycelyn Davis-Scott - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Danny Still - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Dornice Williams - Risk Management Administrative Assistant
  • Linda Williams - Risk Management Administrative Assistant

Important Links

Physical Address
455 East Capitol Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201-2603

Mailing Address
Post Office Box 2779
Jackson, Mississippi 39207-2779

P - 601-960-1799
F - 601-960-1756 or 601-960-0321

Monica D. Joiner
City Attorney


455 E Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39207

Ph: 601-960-1799
Fx: 601-960-1756
Fx: 601-960-0321