Click to Home
Go To Search
How Do I?

Jackson News

Posted on: November 14, 2016

Mayor Tony T. Yarber Welcomes New Mayor's Youth Council


Mayor Tony T. Yarber recently welcomed a new group to the Mayor's Youth Council. The induction ceremony was held Thursday, Nov. 10, at 6 p.m. at the Smith Robertson Museum and Cultural Center, 528 Bloom Street.

The Youth Council is part of Mayor Tony T. Yarber’s “I Need You to Make It” initiative, which focuses on providing the City’s youth with opportunities to help them achieve success in school and their community.

The new members are 
Ke’shai Funches, Jazmine Hirt, Jaina Johnson, Asia Morgan, Chloe Owens, Amber Paige, Keylln Paige,  Taylor Parmley, Darrah Phillips, Caleb Singleton, Sachem Stamps, Kellye Trussell, Justin Wakefield, Kristin West, Wesley White.

The Youth Council will engage in several outreach projects as youth advocates, as well as create and propose policy to enhance the quality of life for youth in the City of Jackson. The Youth Council will meet monthly for a series of courses on government structure, function and operation. They’ll also participate in community service and service learning projects.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email